Cleft teams in Providence and Boston

Children and adults with cleft lip and/or palate issues

Moderator: Moderators

Cleft teams in Providence and Boston

Postby samsmom » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:50 pm

Hello everyone,

Thanks to those who responded to my earlier post, we are awaiting the arrival of our little girl on October 15th and know she will have a bilateral cleft lip and palate involvement. I really appreciate the tips so far on feeding!

Does anyone have experience with either the cleft palate team at Hasbro Childrens hospital in Providence or the one at Boston Childrens Hospital? We are evaluating both and would appreciate any feedback from those who have used either. Thank you!

Trish
samsmom

Boston & Providence

Postby Linda S S » Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:20 pm

Hi Trish,
Welcome to the list! I live near Cambridge and we take the train to Providence once in a while but I have no experience with either of the teams. My niece who was born with UCL lives in WI and will have her surgery at Shriners in Chicago, probably in Oct. They go for the assessment this Thursday. My sister and brother-in-law found out about her cleft lip when she was born as they had not had any ultrasounds done. I put together a half page information sheet about CLP for them to share with friends and family. This included it with the birth announcement.
Linda S S
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Postby jacksmom » Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:27 am