Sinus Problems--Cleft Related?

Children and adults with cleft lip and/or palate issues

Moderator: Moderators

Sinus Problems--Cleft Related?

Postby Anonymous » Wed Nov 17, 1999 2:27 pm

I was born with a bilateral Cleft Palate, and am now experiencing severe sinus problems as an adult. I am recovering from the second sinus infection I've had this year. Does anyone else have a cleft and sinus problems too? Are they in any way related? Any answers and suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
Anonymous

Re: Sinus Problems--Cleft Related?

Postby Joel joelrain@aol.com » Thu Dec 09, 1999 11:10 pm

Hello,
This is my first time researching this issue, and I thought I would look here.
I'm not sure about my diagnosis, and what happend to me. Apparently, I had a self repaired cleft palet/lip. I was adopted
so there is really no medical history for me from birth to 1 month. I am 21 years old, and have had extensive sinus problems that have been treated in many different ways,
with very little success. I get them about 3-4 times/year.
Joel joelrain@aol.com

Postby Keri » Mon Dec 20, 1999 7:25 am

This is the very reason I'm here today. My 6 year old son (who had his palate repaired as an infant). has terrible sinus problems. he has a CONSTANT runny nose. For years I thought it was allergies, he was tested two days ago and he is allergy free. Back to square one. I'm going to talk to his surgeon about this. It really is quite serious. He has cronic sinisitus, fluid in ears and ear infecrions. BTW, the allergist said that it may be that he is not flushing all the mucus into his stomache like the rest of us do, due to a structural abmormality above the palate. A doctor can check for you with a light microscope thingy through the nasal cavity. I'll let you know if I find anything out from my research. Does anyone have anymore info?
Keri
Keri

Postby macia » Wed Dec 22, 1999 6:43 am