Adult Lip Revision...

Children and adults with cleft lip and/or palate issues

Moderator: Moderators

Adult Lip Revision...

Postby Anonymous » Sun Sep 23, 2001 7:42 pm

I am a 33-yr-old woman considering having lip revision surgery. I was born with a unilateral cleft that left me with a very tight, thin top lip. My doctor has suggested the "Abbe Flap" procedure? Has anyone ever had one of these done? How painful and uncomfortable was the recovery? Were you able to speak? What were the results? Were you pleased? Did you have a "cupid's bow"? And was the scar less pronounced? And finally, did your insurance pay for it? Thank you for any help you can offer me!!

Andrea M.
Anonymous

Re: Adult Lip Revision...

Postby Bill Magee » Sun Oct 07, 2001 6:59 am

I saw your note about Abbe Flaps and wanted to say that if you have a bilateral cleft and the lip is too tight, it is a wonderful proceedure. I have been treating people with clefts for over 22 years and have operated on over 3000 people with clefts. On quite a few individules with bilateral clefts the milline segment was just never big enough and for that reason it becomes impossible to get a good result. When you do it you do get two good peaks of the cupid's bow but more importantly you also get a good midline dimple which is missing in most repaired bilatyeral clefts. If you need any other questions answered please don't hesitate to call me eithae at my office 757 627 6700 or at my home 757 489 1247 and I be more that glad to discuess it with you. Good luck. Dr. Magee
Bill Magee
Professional VIP
Professional VIP

Postby Anonymous » Wed Oct 17, 2001 2:17 pm