cleft palate

Children and adults with cleft lip and/or palate issues

Moderator: Moderators

cleft palate

Postby Lori » Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:34 pm

Hi, My husband & I are adopting a precious 4-yr-old little girl from China and expect to travel anytime! We have two biological sons and I am a pediatric nurse (but without much experience with cleft palate repair). Dani Lin was born with a unilateral cleft lip, also, which was just repaired last Nov (2000). She has been diagnosed with a grade 1 cleft palate. I'm not sure what exactly this means, that it is the least severe stage? I have been doing research on possible surgical scenarios, we live in Phoenix (Phoenix Children's Hosp). I was concerned about her having surgery very close to the time she gets here and her adjustment and all, but what I have found is that other children have positively responded to having the first surgery close to when they arrive. I do want her to be able to speak clearly from the start as it will help her with her English building. We are all learning Chinese, but with her unclear speech and our "accents", I'm not sure we are going to understand what each other is saying very well! We'll see. If anyone could just shed some light on the best things I could do initially for her regarding the cleft palate, I would really appreciate it. Thanks, Lori
Lori

Re: cleft palate

Postby boggs_wesley@hotmail.com » Mon Sep 03, 2001 11:16 am